Skip to content

Irish stew for Wednesday

August 29, 2014

Finnbar and Shamus, two octogenarians, met in the park every day to feed the pigeons, watch the squirrels and discuss world problems.
One day Finnbar didn’t show up.
Shamus didn’t think much about it and figured maybe he had a cold or something.
But after Finnbar hadn’t shown up for a week or so, Shamus really got worried.
However, since the only time they ever got together was at the park, Shamus didn’t know where Finnbar lived, so he was unable to find out what had happened to him.
A month had passed, and Shamus figured he had seen the last of Finnbar, but one day, Shamus approached the park and– lo and  behold!–there sat Finnbar!
Shamus was very excited and happy to see him and told him so. Then he said, ‘For crying out loud Finnbar,what in the world happened to you?’
Finnbar replied, ‘I have been in jail.’
‘Jail’ cried Shamus. ‘What in the world for?’
‘Well’ Finnbar said, ‘you know, that cute little blonde waitress at the coffee shop where I sometimes go?’
‘Yeah,’ said Shamus, “I remember you telling me about her.”

.
‘Well, one day she files rape charges against me; and at 89 years old, I was so proud that when I got into court, I pleaded ‘guilty.’ And the judge gave me 90 days for perjury!

From → I

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

